Say ‘brown butter and toasted pecans’ without fainting

by yeppalakshmi

Ok, it’s a little past my bed time here, but I had to post this after MH’s reaction. He loves Brussels sprouts, and I had never had them before. So, a few days ago we decided to have pasta, when we got these little cabbages (they are, aren’t they? I was like, “What the…!” when I first saw it) from Nature’s Basket. Anyway, they’re new to me, and I love experimenting in the kitchen, especially with what I have.

Peeled and clean brussel sprouts. And then halved later

Peeled and clean Brussels sprouts. And then halved later

We also happened to have in stock some pecan nuts from the same place, which I had been saving up for dessert, but this recipe by Jessica of How Sweet It Is changed my mind. Brown butter and toasted pecan? Oh yes, oh yes, oh yes.

It was a gloomy day. Nothing a plate of home-cooked food couldn't fix!

It was a gloomy day. Nothing a plate of home-cooked food couldn’t fix!

I think the pecan nuts perfectly lifted the pasta and sprouts both. Love, love, love!

Dear Brussel S, when can I see you again?

Dear Brussels S, when can I see you again?

So, that’s that! Please follow Jessica’s recipe to the tee, I am told that Brussels sprouts is not everyone’s plate of green veggie. This coming from friends who love them boiled. Still, every vegetable has its day, right?

